M is for Making a Change

Around October last year I caught this linking (somehow I don’t know where) to a segment on the ABC Show Catalyst about the real dietary villians.

Here’s the link: Catalyst: Heart of the Matter Part 1 – Dietary Villains – ABC TV Science.

After watching this and reading up on it I started looking into the story about sugar. I read through this book here after a friend on facebook recommended it when I posted about the Catalyst segment.

There’s A LOT of information in this book. It certainly bares reading multiple times. It’s easy to read but because of the the density of the detail you find yourself rereading several chapters and paragraphs. But what it does do is take what is potentially highly scientific terminology and jargon completely understandable. He steps things out and progresses logically through the explanations. I did feel like I was back in high school science class and that was okay because I really do regret not paying more attention in those classes. I will undoubtedly go back to re-read parts of it over the next year or so.

So that led me to the next book:

And I’ve been steadily reading through this since about the last couple of weeks of December. Again much to take in and this will form a reference guide probably for the next year or so.

The change we’re making is breaking the addiction to sugar. I’ll be honest and confess that my addiction to sugar is probably much stronger than Tim’s but since going through the food choices quite a lot of them already coincide with his likes and preferences. You think that it sounds not too bad – I mean you can have your bread still (obviously the lowest sugar kind) butter, all your meats, cheeses, potatoes, rice, of course all the veggies and the fruit. To be more specific – it’s an addiction to fructose that causes the issues. The constant stream of fructose that goes into our bodies actually messes with the body’s appetite regulation control and this is why portions have grown to ridiculous levels. And why we continue eating since we don’t feel full. So breaking the sugar fructose addiction actually kicks your appetite regulator into functionality again.

The drinks are limited – milk, water, Pepsi Max, tea (no sugar) and that’s it. Not a problem really since we don’t drink alcohol (except the odd cocktail or mixer on special occasions) and juice is usually not in the fridge.

There are sugar replacements you can use and I’m still looking into them because there are some out there that simply metabolise straight into fructose once it’s consumed and there seems to be plenty of recipes out there that replace them. I’ve even purchased a “chocolate” bar that’s sugar free. We’ll see. I’m not optimistic that way I might be pleasantly surprised.

I have gone through the pantry and boxed up all the items that don’t fit the 3% sugar content ie 3gms or less and ended up with quite a few items πŸ˜‰

I will be doing a blood test tomorrow then the withdrawal process begins and we’ll go cold turkey. I don’t need to go through all the benefits of course but I am looking forward to seeing the effect of the changes once the withdrawal period is over (apparently you feel like crap when breaking the addiction which is understandable). I may even venture into homemade ice cream making at desperate moments.

The changes I want to make happen?

– Get rid of this plantar fasciitis which is strongly related to weight- I want to see less of me
– Feel less back pain
– A return to fitness and running faster in agility
– Less obsessing about food

David Gillespie the author, makes no bones about it – quitting sugar is hard. I’ll be following his 5 step plan to break addiction to the letter. I will probably get cranky. I’ll have headaches and will feel like crap. Hopefully those around me will understand and if not I’m sure they can just give me a wide berth anyway (I’ve never really done the whole PMS thing – maybe this can be my version of it).

 

 

2 thoughts on “M is for Making a Change

  1. hi, for your plantar problem , grab a can of soup, peas etc from the pantry, 410 gram size and when sitting , roll the underneath part of your foot back and forward heaps of times, to stretch it and after a few days of doing this as often as you can , the pain will go. Worked for me, hope it works for you!

Leave a Reply

