Rome here I come!

Image

So on Tuesday this is where I’ll be. *blinks* Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius. It’s all a little surreal really. Going from such a young place (ie Australian European settlements) to such an old place (I believe Rome turns 2765 years old this year!) and I think it’s going to be quite an amazing experience.

I am writing this post because apparently I like to put pressure on myself with regards to getting ready for long haul flights and extended holidays. And this one is only five weeks. I can’t picture me getting ready for a six month trip at the end of June. I feel like a sense of a smallish boulder rolling slowly down the hill gathering even more and mroe material until it’s like that scene out of Raiders of the Lost Ark where all you can do is try and run and get out of the way.

I’ve decided I quite like this life of being on extended vacation from work. But I’m still pretty sure I will want to go back to work next year. All said I do love being a teacher and so that is what I want to do with my time. But it’s nice being able to focus on other things that I am passionate about. And really whilst that is making sure I exercise, get fit, train my dogs, play agility I also need to add televsion and movie watching and spending considerably long spaces of time connecting with people and humanities on the internet. It’s a wonderful place on here and I truly think the benefits outweigh the negatives – so long as you get to experience the real world as well.

I’m feeling good right now, I’m not exactly where I want to be with my weight but I am working on it still (this will be a lifetime thing – the sooner I realise that the easier it gets to be a lifetsyle thing) and I am feeling fit through my gym work, I’m happy with the way the dogs are training although I am going to miss Tim and those furry butts for the next five weeks. I feel strong and capable of running like I need to for the World Agility Open Championships in Belgium. I’m looking forward to seeing family I haven’t seen in years in the UK, meeting an online friend in the flesh after nearly two years of chatting via phone and texts and gchats and soaking up the European vibe in all things history, art and agility!

So this a short post – to say heads up there will be more. I’m taking cameras and videos and ipads and my instagram phone app and I will be having fun! I hope to make use of wifi and journal my journey so to speak here on the world wide web.

 

 

Leave a Reply

